Bad Larry, Classic & Jules

Posted on Updated on

Moving this over to my poker blog.  Didn’t mean to post it here!

https://pokergoddess.wordpress.com/

path

The mentor’s I’ve had haven’t known they were my mentors.  They never said, “I’m mentoring you.” In fact, to their faces, I stubbornly refused to take any advise.

“Do not ever tell me how to play.”

When I was in grad school and writing full time, I always wanted a mentor.  I was really disappointed that no one ever took me under their wing.  I had potential.  The world is a busy, cruel place, and time is hard to come by.

But poker, however is a game, and in order for it to be a good game, you need good players to play against.   Poker as metaphor.

Ten years younger than me, my friend Classic taught me not to bother to come to the table if I’m not willing to lose what I bring.  And Bad Larry told me to play position.  He said “If you are the last to act you have some power.”  Jules last taught me how to play one-on-one. She showed me not to be afraid to shove all your chips in when you’re the last two at the table.

I’m not a mentor….instead about all I know to do is play a good game, and try to mentor by good play.  The  thing I try to pass on:  never lose your cool.   It’s embarrassing to see someone enraged by losing.  Isn’t it better when someone gets knocked out and they offer up a toast to the poker goddess?   Or, instead of tipping over a chair, they say “Buy me a drink, you donkey.”

2 thoughts on “Bad Larry, Classic & Jules

    Inspiring Max said:
    April 21, 2015 at 7:55 pm

    Powerful quote.

    dunelight said:
    May 2, 2015 at 1:17 am

    Not sure I should have read this. Although I have helped and mentored others no one has ever mentored me either. :/

Leave a Reply

